January Great Reads 2015

Happy new year to everyone, ok I know I’m a little late in saying this, but I have spent the last few weeks dealing with my inner demons and feeling the need for some solitude and so I have spent my days curled up on the sofa with wind, rain and snow blustering outside losing myself in completely absorbing fiction. Today the sun is shining and I’m feeling a little better so I thought I’d share some of my most recent favourite reads with you all.

The Shock of the Fall – Nathan Filer

A costa first novel award winner written by a talented author in his spare time around his day job as a mental health nurse. This is a story about Matt Holmes a young man with schizophrenia, struggling within the mental health system using writing as his own form of therapy.

A sensitive read encompassing Matt’s guilt and the circumstances surrounding his sibling’s death, which the reader discovers more about as the story develops. Full of memorable characters, caustic observations and a real empathy for people with this cruel disease.

Alex – Adam J Nicholai

Another debut novel, dealing with a father’s grief and ability to cope with day-to-day life after his son’s tragic death. This story had me crying in places, feeling a whole range of emotions, which are often uncomfortable. But to me if an author can make you experience what the characters are experiencing it’s a job well done. The novel had me wondering at times if the protagonist was losing his sanity or dealing with supernatural goings on, the writing making it feasible to believe many different possibilities. The topic makes every parents worst nightmares come alive and I certainly crept upstairs to my son’s bedroom more than once reading this story just to give him a kiss and whisper that I love him. An absorbing read.

The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins

An unpredictable thriller, which keeps you guessing. A lonely depressed commuter to London takes comfort from imagining the lives of the people who live in the houses she passes during her daily train journey. However one day something she witnesses reveals that their lives may not be as perfect as it appears. Shortly afterwards she realizes that what she witnessed may be vitally important to a police investigation. A book based around lie and suspicion which will have you trying to work out who did it almost until the last page.

I Let you go – Clare Mackintosh

A psychological thriller that again for me was a real page-turner. The prologue drew me in and had me almost in tears and twists and turns throughout the book kept me up late wanting to read just one more chapter. Written from two points of view, the police investigating the incident that occurs in the prologue and the protagonist Jenna who has experienced a traumatic event and moves to Wales wanting to restart her life. Very cleverly written, full of emotion and characters that you cant help but like.

Leave a Reply

