What Makes a Good Story?

I have been thinking a lot recently about what it is for me that makes a good story. I enjoy a variety of genres in fiction and will happily skip from a horror novel to women’s fiction if the book can draw me in. Here are my own personal requirements for a good story.

3 Dimensional Characters with flaws

For me to be drawn into a story I need a character that I can relate to and care about. I want to understand why they are, the way they are. I don’t want them to be perfect either in looks or personality. In fact if a character is perfect I am less drawn into the story as people simply aren’t perfect. I want my characters to be not wholly good or wholly bad. Which leads me onto…

Character Development

As the story progresses I want my protagonist to develop. Maybe they have a personal issue to overcome, or a fear, or a way of reacting to situations because of their past which is no longer serving them now. Whatever the issue is I want my character to overcome his or her difficulties, because quite frankly if a character can overcome issues it gives hope to us all!

I will continue this in the next post. Until then…

Leave a Reply

